2017 Book 04 ‘The Travelling Bag’

2017 Goodreads Challenge 04

04-the-travelling-bag

‘The Travelling Bag & Other Ghostly Stories’ by Susan Hill

To check out my reading progress visit my Goodreads page click HERE

I adore this book it is beautiful to look at, before even picking up and reading because of its wonderfully embossed dust cover.

Amazon

To buy on Amazon.com click HERE

Rose Reviews ‘The Travelling Bag & Other Ghostly Stories.’

Everything you could expect from Susan Hill

This book attracted me because of the embossed dust cover as I previously mentioned it is so beautiful (being a touchy feely kind of book lover, yes have often been known to stoke books as I take them off the shelf). Fans of ‘The Woman in Black’ will surely love this a I did.

A collection of four short stories

The Travelling Bag –  this short story should really come with a warning, especially for those of a nervous disposition and a phobia of fluttery creatures. It is a tale within a tale set in old Victorian times. A story of revenge.

When a hardworking scientist falls ill the student he is mentoring steals his research papers, and then disappears to return later an eminent scientist himself.

Boy Twenty-One a wonderful ghost story about two lonely boys who become friends, I loved this one.

Alice Baker a story of mystery and intrigue. Will the office girls get to the bottom of the fact that Alice Baker is a hard worker? No one knows a thing about her and there is often an unpleasant smell surrounding her.

Finally The Front Room the creepiest and scariest story in the collection. The reason I picked up another lighter book to read to get the images out of my head.

Very highly recommended for fans of Susan Hill

For me a real page turner therefore I give it my top 3 Rose Rating

3 Rose Rating

Happy Reading

jc-logo-1b-transparent

Leave a Reply

