Day 15 #CampNaNoWriMo

Hello well I thought I would keep you up to date with my CampNaNoWriMo progress. I have already reached my word target of 10,00 but I still have more in me (when I am not off on a tangent doing research then I’m lost for the day).

So just to remind you I am doing the NaNo challenge to discipline myself into writing particularly trying to finish two short stories that I want to include in my forth coming book ‘Rainbows & Roses ~ Poetry & Prose’

Camp NaNoWriMo

I finished my 1st story ‘No Words Exchanged’ see earlier teaser, and now am working on ‘The Birth of Grandfather Time’. This is all about a clock maker in the 16th Century whom Old Father Time admires greatly, then in his passing his wish is granted to watch over and protect his family for all time. His soul is immortalised within a longcase clock.

Historical Fact

‘The longcase clock changed to become known as the more popular ‘Grandfather Clock’ after a famous song written by Henry Clay Work 1876. The story goes that whilst the American was visiting North Yorkshire he stayed at The George Hotel who had a longcase clock that although majestic and beautiful was not in working order. It had belonged to The Jenkins Brothers and when the 1st died the clock began to slow down. When the second died the clock finally stopped altogether never to go again.’

‘My grandfather’s clock was too large for the shelf,
So it stood ninety years on the floor;
It was taller by half than the old man himself,
Though it weighed not a pennyweight more.
It was bought on the morn of the day that he was born,
And was always his treasure and pride;
But it stopp’d short– never to go again–
When the old man died.

The following video is the inspiration behind the story

So I only managed 391 words today as I kept on changing my mind about different paragraphs. Here is a little teaser but please not it is only a rough selection it will most definitely need a good editing.

#CampNaNoWriMo

Thank you for dropping by, any comments welcomed.

One thought on “Day 15 #CampNaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

